#1650 – The End…For Now

No comments

This really isn’t the end of The Christian Nerd, though as I wrote about this week, it is the end of a season. I’ve been running The Christian Nerd for six and a half years and at this point I need a little break. I’ve got some other projects to work on, but I plan on coming back to The Christian Nerd. There might be some format changes, both for the blog and the podcast, but I still love The Christian Nerd.

As this chapter comes to a close, though, I wanted to take a look back on what I most appreciated over the past six and a half years.

  • My favorite part about The Christian Nerd has been meeting new people and making new friends. Because of my website I have met people from literally all over the world. I’ve had people in my home from Africa because of this site and I’ve followed friends through various stages of life. Even though The Christian Nerd will be going through some changes, those friendships will continue uninterrupted.
  • For the past two years, I’ve also thoroughly enjoyed The Christian Nerd Podcast. Once a week Ron and I would get together to talk about Jesus and our favorite nerdclinations. Expanding everything I wrote about to a different medium was exciting. I’ll miss recording with Ron, but I’m pretty sure I’ll talk into a microphone about Jesus and Star Wars again, even if it’s just for a sermon illustration.
  • The Octagon is our Slack group for The Christian Nerd. It has quickly become my favorite social network. Much to my surprise people I didn’t know in real life actually wanted to join. I now interact with people all over North America, sharing about our faith, families and favorite nerdclinations. It’s a tremendous community for everyone who participates. It will continue on. If you’d like to join please direct message me on Twitter or email me at scott@thechristiannerd.com.
  • I loved writing about nerdy stuff five days a week. I’ve been a nerd for my entire life and it finally seems to be paying off. Everything that I loved growing up and still love today, is extremely popular. It amazes me that there is enough nerdy stuff in the world to populate over 1,500 blog posts. I was going to watch all those movies and read all those comics anyway, so I might as well have written about them all.

More than anything I loved having a place to connect with you, the readers and the listeners. I know that this isn’t the end, but I so appreciate you coming along for the journey so far. It still amazes me that anyone would want to read my posts or listen to our show, much less share that they somehow impacted a life.

Thanks for everything. Keep up to date with me on Twitter and for the latest updates on The Christian Nerd.

Leave a comment