#446 – Blink

4 comments

This past weekend I finally watched the Doctor Who episode “Blink”. Since I started watching Doctor Who, so many people have told me how excited they are for me that I’ll get to watch “Blink” for the first time. I really enjoyed the episode; I thought it was well written and had a good mix of heart and horror.

I really liked the Weeping Angels. The idea of “quantum locked” aliens that can only move when no one is looking is both scary and awesome. The Doctor’s description that the Weeping Angels feed off of the potential energy of others also intrigued me. Instead of feeding off their victims’ bodies or blood, the Weeping Angels feed off of everything their victims could have been.

Weeping Angels don’t exist but our potential, everything we can be, can still be taken from us.

Ephesians 4:26-27 says:

“In your anger do not sin”: Do not let the sun go down while you are still angry, and do not give the devil a foothold.

Ephesians warns us to let go of our anger and resolve the conflicts in our lives. If we don’t let go of our anger we could end up forming grudges against the people in our lives. Holding onto grudges poisons our lives. They’re like an infection in our souls that will continue to fester and rot, stealing our joy and winnowing away our potential.

When we’re so focused on hurts from our past it keeps us from seeing what can become of our future. When we can’t let go of old conflicts it prevents us from embracing everything that we could be. Unresolved anger and conflicts are like the Weeping Angels, denying us of our potential and keeping us in the past instead of living the future God has for us.

God wants so much more for us than to live in the past and miss our futures. Defeating the Weeping Angels required the TARDIS and messages from the past. Fortunately for us, if we want to let go of anger and resolve conflict, we just need to spend time with Jesus to truly understand forgiveness.

What thoughts do you have from “Blink”?

4 comments on “#446 – Blink”

  1. Brilliant connection! I love this. All I learned on my own from “Blink” was that I will never, ever own any type of statuary.

Leave a comment