#303 – Cubs Win?

No comments

A few weeks ago I wrote about how I hadn’t played video games for a couple weeks. That couple weeks has now stretched into over a month.

I haven’t killed any dragons in Skyrim.

I haven’t gone online to help my team lose in Modern Warfare 3.

I haven’t started playing Mass Effect 2 so I can get caught up for Mass Effect 3.

I have done a little kung fu and hoola hooping on Wii Fit but I don’t think that counts.

I have felt video game deprived but haven’t really been inspired to pick up the controller and pour hours into a video game. Until I saw the commercial below.

The first time I saw that commercial I almost cried. I am a lifelong Cubs fan and I have often wondered what it would be like for my beloved Cubbies to win the World Series. Honestly, I have no idea how I would react. The euphoria depicted in the commercial, though, made me want to instantly go out and buy MLB 12: The Show.

The last time I bought and played a baseball video game was 2003. MVP Baseball 2003 was an amazing video game and I was happily leading my Cubs to the World Series. But when the girl I liked started dating a baseball player, I was soured to the game and traded it in. Enough time has passed, that wound has healed and I think I’m ready to take the Cubs to the World Series, if only virtually.

Sadly, it looks like only a virtual Cubs team has a chance of making the World Series this year. The team is in a rebuilding mode and hope for the future is bought at the expense of a mediocre present. As a Cubs fan I have learned a lot about patience, perseverance and the hope which springs eternal every spring.

In that way there are a lot of parallels between being a Cubs fan and our lives with Jesus. However, with Jesus, our hope is assured and we know that, one day, everything will be made right. In spite of bad seasons and down years, Jesus remains faithful and ultimately our hope will be fulfilled.

Unfortunately the same can’t be said for the Cubs.

I wish Jesus would do to the Curse of the Billy Goat what he did to the curse of sin.

What encourages you to continue holding onto your hope in Jesus?

Leave a comment